Sunday, July 7, 2013

Content Index For The "Humble eBook Bundle II" By Humble Bundle

These are the items that were included in the "Humble eBook Bundle II" sold by Humble Bundle around July of 2013.

Disclaimer: All content was taken directly from the Humble Bundle page and is listed here for historical and reference purposes only. Bundle Index is not associated with Humble Bundle.

We just like buying eBook bundles but often find that once we've purchased the bundles we often have a hard time knowing which book to read (especially if it's long after the sale has ended).

Read on past the jump for the index.

Quick Index:

Standard Books included in Humble eBook Bundle II:

Little Brother by Cory Doctorow

"High school hacker Marcus and his friends get caught up in a terrorist attack on San Francisco. After being arrested and released, they find the Department of Homeland Security is treating every citizen like a suspect, so they take it upon themselves to launch an attack on the DHS.

Little Brother won the 2009 White Pine Award, the 2009 Prometheus Award, and the 2009 John W. Campbell Memorial Award. It was also a finalist for the Hugo Award for Best Novel."

Boneshaker by Cherie Priest

"Inventor Leviticus Blue creates the Boneshaker, a drill that accidentally releases a horrific gas in Seattle, turning people into zombies and shutting down the city. Sixteen years later, Blue’s son, Ezekiel, escapes to Seattle to prove his father’s innocence and only his mother can bring him back. Uncover family secrets and trek through undead streets in the science fiction novel Boneshaker.

Boneshaker was nominated for the 2010 Hugo Award for Best Novel."

Spin by Robert Charles Wilson

"Tyler, Jason, and Diane witness the stars disappear one night. What follows is a science fiction novel like no other. A "spin membrane" has been placed around Earth, distorting the natural ebb and flow of time. As the three children grow up with "The Spin," they come to deal with it in their own way.

Spin won the 2006 Hugo Award for Best Novel."

Shards of Honor by Lois McMaster Bujold

"Shards of Honor is the first novel in the Vorkosigan Saga. Survey commander Cordelia Naismith from Beta Colony has heard all about the Barrayarans - that they’re ruthless and soulless. But when she meets Captain Vorkosigan of Barrayar, her perception changes when she sees how honorably he behaves to her and her injured shipmate. In this science fiction love story, Cordelia must make the hard decision whether to stay loyal to her world or risk it all for a very different future."

Unlockable Books included in Humble eBook Bundle II:

The Last Unicorn: Deluxe Edition by Peter Beagle

"The Last Unicorn: Deluxe Edition comes stuffed with a ton of extras: an introduction by the author, Peter Beagle, the sequel story "Two Hearts," an interview with Peter, and a complete bibliography of his works. This fantasy classic tells the tale of a unicorn who discovers she is the last unicorn in the world and sets out on a fairy-tale journey to uncover the fate of the rest of her kind."

Just a Geek by Wil Wheaton

"In Just a Geek, actor and author Wil Wheaton shares a very honest recollection of his life. Wil shares the struggles with his acting career, the joys he found in writing, and the support he received from family and friends in this heartfelt memoir."

On July 10, 2013 the following 4 unlockable books were added to the bundle.

xkcd: volume 0 by Randall Munroe

"xkcd: volume 0 features selections from the first 600 comics of geek humor webcomic xkcd, including favorites from both the author and fans. Since the webcomic typically features fun mouseover text, it’s discreetly included with all comics as well!"

Signal to Noise by Neil Gaiman & Dave McKean

"Signal to Noise examines the relationship of one man’s internal apocalypse to that of a film he will no longer have time to make. Written by four-time Hugo Award-winning author Neil Gaiman and beautifully illustrated by World Fantasy Award-winner Dave McKean, this profound graphic novel debuted its digital format in the first Humble eBook Bundle! Additional extras include three short stories by McKean, one of which is also written by Gaiman."

The Poison Eaters and Other Stories by Holly Black

"New York Times best-selling author Holly Black’s first collection of short stories, The Poison Eaters and Other Stories, is horrifically fantastic in all the best ways. Love, dark fantasy, and mythical creatures thread these stories together into an eerie collection of tales you won’t want to skip out on. You’ll get hooked on stories about an eating contest with the Devil and three sisters with lips of poison."

Machine of Death by Ryan North, Matthew Bennardo, David Malki, and Contributors

"Machine of Death is a collection of science fiction short stories, each centered around a device that, given a blood sample, will print out how a person is going to die. Each story is titled with the cause of death, resulting in intriguing tales titled "Flaming Marshmallow" and "Cassandra." While some stories delight in unexpected deaths, others entrance us in how the characters deal with the knowledge of their impending death or the device’s impact on society."


So there you have it. The content index for the "Humble eBook Bundle II" by Humble Bundle.

We hope this index will be useful as you either make your way through the books in the bundle and/or help you pick and choose which to read.

No comments:

Post a Comment